Carnegie Mellon University’s Krzysztof Matyjaszewski, PhD, has been elected to the National Academy of Sciences (NAS) in recognition of his distinguished and continuing achievements in original research.  Dr. Matyjaszewski is an affiliated faculty member of the McGowan Institute for Regenerative Medicine.

NAS membership is a widely accepted mark of excellence in science and is considered one of the highest honors that a scientist can receive.

Dr. Matyjaszewski, the J.C. Warner University Professor of the Natural Sciences in the Mellon College of Science’s Department of Chemistry, is world renowned for his discovery of atom transfer radical polymerization (ATRP), one of the most effective and widely used methods of controlled radical polymerization. ATRP has allowed for the creation of a wide range of materials with highly specific, tailored functionalities, including “smart” materials.

Dr. Matyjaszewski’s work has been licensed to companies worldwide and he has been cited in the scientific literature more than 100,000 times, making him one of the most cited chemists in the world. He was elected as a member of the National Academy of Engineering in 2006, a fellow of the American Chemical Society in 2010 and a fellow of the National Academy of Inventors in 2014. He is a member of Australian, Polish and Russian Academies of Sciences. He received the 2017 Benjamin Franklin Medal in Chemistry, the 2013 AkzoNobel North American Science Award, the 2011 Wolf Prize in Chemistry and the 2009 Presidential Green Chemistry Challenge Award, among many other awards.

Dr. Matyjaszewski is among 100 new members and 25 foreign associates to be elected to the academy in 2019.

NAS is a private, nonprofit institution that was established under a congressional charter signed by President Abraham Lincoln in 1863. It recognizes achievement in science by election to membership, and — with the National Academy of Engineering and the National Academy of Medicine — provides science, engineering and health policy advice to the federal government and other organizations.

Congratulations, Dr. Matyjaszewski!

Read more…

National Academy of Science News Release

Carnegie Mellon University News Release