James Antaki, PhD (pictured top) and Joseph Glorioso III, PhDThe National Academy of Inventors (NAI) has named the induction of 169 distinguished inventors to be NAI Fellows. Election as an Academy Fellow is the highest professional distinction awarded to academic inventors.  Two McGowan Institute for Regenerative Medicine affiliated faculty members are a part of this distinguished group. They are:

James Antaki, PhD (pictured top): At Cornell University, Dr. Antaki is the Susan K. McAdam Professor of Heart Assist Technology in the Meinig School of Biomedical Engineering. He holds an Adjunct Professor position at the University of Pittsburgh in the Department of Bioengineering. The majority of Dr. Antaki’s professional career has been devoted to the development of blood-wetted medical devices. Equally important as the devices themselves, his research focuses on the methodology by which they are designed and implemented. Dr. Antaki has contributed to the development of several heart-assist devices used clinically, including the Heartmate-II, Novacor, Ventracor, TandemHeart, and Levacor. In 1997, he directed a multidisciplinary team that produced the Streamliner heart-assist device – the world’s first magnetically levitated rotodynamic blood pump to be tested in-vivo.

Joseph Glorioso III, PhD (pictured bottom): Dr. Glorioso is a Professor in the Department of Microbiology and Molecular Genetics at the University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine and holds a secondary appointment in the Department of Human Genetics, University of Pittsburgh Graduate School of Public Health. Dr. Glorioso has established over a 40-year history of research related to the basic biology and genetics of herpes simplex virus (HSV). His contributions to the field include defining antiviral immune responses to infection, the genetics of viral pathogenesis and latency, and mechanisms of viral infection.  Furthermore, he has been a pioneer in the design and application of HSV gene vectors for the treatment of nervous system diseases such as peripheral neuropathies, chronic pain, and brain tumors.

The 2022 Fellow class hails from 110 research universities, governmental and non-profit research institutions worldwide. They collectively hold over 5,000 issued U.S. patents. Among the new class of Fellows are members of the National Academy of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine; Fellows of AAAS; and other prestigious organizations; Nobel Laureates; other honors and distinctions as well as senior leadership from universities and research institutions. Their body of research and entrepreneurship covers a broad range of scientific disciplines involved with technology transfer of their inventions for the benefit of society.

The 2022 class of Fellows will be honored and presented their medals at the 12th Annual Meeting of the National Academy of Inventors on June 27th, 2023, in Washington, DC.

Congratulations, Drs. Antaki and Glorioso!

Read more…

National Academy of Inventors News Release

University of Pittsburgh Innovation Institute

Cornell University News Release